LBV Bistro and Wine Bar – ticking all the boxes!

Noble Savage (he said):

LBV Bistro is place we’ve wanted to check out for a while now. It was included in the autumn edition of Restaurant Week, but we had to unfortunately cancel our booking due to unexpected events. So for the spring edition, LBV was one of my non-negotiables.

dsc_0659

The bistro is hidden away behind the Cramerview Village Centre. We arrived a bit earlier than our booking, but received a warm welcome from Issue, the floor manager for the afternoon. He immediately sorted us some drinks, as we must have been visually showing signs of dehydration (we tried to get drinks from Higher Ground, but left after 20 F–KING MINUTES OF NO SERVICE).

I learned after the fact that LBV is also classified as a wine bar. And it’s easy to see why – their wine list is very impressive! They include the platter rating for each wine, and where there is no Platter rating, they give their own (indicated by **). The “wine per glass” selection is not huge, but covers most tastes. I thusly decided to rather try and pair wine to my mains.

dsc_0665dsc_0661dsc_0662dsc_0663

For my starter, I decided on the pork belly paired with the Alvi’s Drift Wooded Chardonnay. The pork belly is roasted in a clay oven, and served with duck liver parfait, tomato jam, and bacon popcorn. And yes, it really was as fucking terrific as it sounds! The roasted flavours went very well with wood on the Chardonnay (which doesn’t cost as much as you would expect for a wooded Chardonnay). The popcorn was a nice touch, and the crunchiness of the popcorn went well with the crispy crackling.

dsc_0666

As part of the lunch, a pallet cleaner of lime sorbet lollipops were included. This was a very nice touch, as it not only cleansed our pallets, but cooled us down on a shit-hot day!

dsc_0673

In keeping with my meat theme, I opted for the Lamb Loin as my main. The dish is served with fennel root mash, celeriac remoulade, pomme Maxine, pistachio and parsley crumb, and Juniper berry and cabernet Jus. Thank fuck I have a photo of the menu – otherwise I would never have remembered all that! I paired the dish with the La Vierge Seduction Pinot Noir. Normally the knee-jerk reaction for pairing with lamb is a Cab or a Shiraz; I chose the Pinot mainly because it’s not as “heavy”, and would not overpower the lamb. And I think my logic paid off – the meal was absolutely incredible, and the wine helped to highlight all the different flavours. Well done to me and LBV!

dsc_0680

I can’t believe we haven’t been to LBV before. Everything here just clicks; the venue itself, the service, the food, the vibe – it all comes together to guarantee you’ll have an awesome time. It’s one of those restaurants where you’ll have a good time with a group of friends, but can also spend a romantic lunch or dinner with your partner. Our choices this year for Restaurant Week was quite divergent, but my vote definitely goes for LBV for overall experience (while you are reading this, I’m most likely trying to make up some event to necessitate another visit).

BoozyFoodie (she said):

Everything mentioned already – I fully agree with!  LBV Bistro and Wine Bar was a fabulous experience, from the moment we walked in – the entire experience was just smooth sailing, relaxing and a real treat – like it should be if you make an effort to go out for a meal.

dsc_1125.jpg

I was so impressed with the wine list – I really have a problem with establishments calling themselves ‘wine bars’ and then there are 2 white, 2 red and 2 rose ‘cheapy’ wines listed per glass.  The idea of a wine bar is that you can try and sample a variety of wine without committing to an entire bottle, not so?

dsc_1135.jpg

The drinks menu also include cocktails, mocktails plus beer (some imported, local and craft), so there is something to keep everyone happy 🙂

Because it was a blazing hot day, I started off with a cool Chenin – Leeuwenkuil, and it worked very well with my starter – Butter & Smoked Paprika Prawn.  Just listen to this ‘Curried Cauliflower Puree, Steamed Romanesco Cauliflower, Smoked Quinoa, Orange Braised Fennel, Mandarin Vinaigrette’ – and yes, it looked and tasted as delicious as it sounds!

dsc_0669

So tasty and the flavours just worked SO well!  I had to pace myself not to finish it all in 2 bites.

By now I’m so excited about my main meal!  I kept with the seafood theme and ordered the Fillet of Kingklip.  And another WOW!  Cape Malay Curry Butter, polenta and corn cake and charred red onion petals.  Came together perfectly!

dsc_0682

Savouring every bite, this was really heavenly.  LBV prides themselves on using quality produce, all food being prepared from scratch in-house and that food is art.  And it is so true and very visible.

I can’t wait to go back – I wanted to keep this our very own little secret.  But I know that LBV has good a fabulous reputation, so I can’t be selfish even if I wanted to!  So we will be back, real soon – and spreading the good news!

LBV Bistro & Wine Bar Menu, Reviews, Photos, Location and Info - Zomato

Leave a Reply

